Our History

Formation and History

The Tuggeranong Presbyterian Church was formed in 1981 as a Home Mission when the Canberra Presbytery granted a petition by nine residents of Tuggeranong who sought to establish a church in Tuggeranong. The church initially met in rooms at the top of the Erindale Theatre. The church grew steadily at this early stage, becoming a sanctioned charge under the Home Missionary, David Mitchell. When David Mitchell qualified, he moved to take up another appointment in Tasmania and the Rev. Richard Wilson was called to the parish where he served until the mid-1990’s.

1998 – 2001
Tim Abbey was the minister and the congregation met at Isabella Plains Public School.

2003 – 2009
Mike Pittman was the minister and the congregation continued to meet at Isabella Plains.

2011 – Present
Peter Gobbo moved from Griffith, and became the minister in 2011 and TPC started meeting in the hall of Gowrie Primary School. Since the beginning of 2014 the evening service has been conducted at the Weston Creek Presbyterian Church building. David Brookes joined the church as the assistant minister in March 2015.

Know Christ, Live Christ, Share Christ